Image by Samir CCA-SA3.0

For me, it’s back to the Lab and BBC.  No, I won’t need a white coat, I’m talking about Radiolab and BBC Radio 2.

It’s a radio wasteland out there.  Polluted airwaves.  Gil’s wife is still on the air on Fridays.  Instead of ear buds we need ear plugs.  yuck!  Horrible radio, lazy programming, wince-worthy content – who needs it?  I turn it off.

I’ve been listening to Frosty.  I like his show.  But, lately, his entire show is comprised of audio clips he plays and then shouts over.  I think he once spent three hours playing clips of Donald Sterling’s taped conversations.  He’s been playing clips of other news stories as well.  Stretching the same clip over segments, and even replaying a portion of the clip we’d just heard ten minutes earlier.

It’s boring.

Then, we get Gross talking about things we heard from Frosty, but Gil brings in a Politico guest to talk about it even more.

It’s sleep-inducing radio.  That’s probably why Gil brings his wife on the show every Friday.  To wake everyone up with her screeching so anyone left listening can run to the radio and turn it OFF before the start of the weekend.  That’s the only reason I can think of why he would continue to embarrass her and himself.

Do you think anyone will follow Gil to another gig?  I know I won’t.  Heck, I wouldn’t care if he ended up on the crummy KGO.  No one listens anyway.  Might as well not listen to him on a station no one will listen to anymore.

I used to listen to Gil, except on dog-whistle ear-piercing Fridays, and even on the days I listened I turned his program down to background noise.  Nothing there.  I always read sfgate in the morning and I hear the same stories over and over again on both Frosty and Gil’s programs.  It’s them talking about the same thing I read hours earlier.  Of course, Gil brings in a Politico correspondent to explain it all again.  It’s almost laughable, but I’m not laughing.  I’m yawning.  Stretching my arms out wide and yawning.  The comments on sfgate are more interesting than what we hear on the radio.  That’s sad.  Can radio be more boring?

Oh, right.  Yes it can.  I just remembered that new show in Randi Rhodes’ former spot.  I haven’t even turned that one on.  The minute Frosty’s show ends I turn off that station and find something else.  Unfortunately, Talk 910 plays promo clips of that show.  ugh!  Can I say ugh?  ugh!

That leaves me with only Frosty.  I enjoy Frosty’s shows when he reveals moments of his personal life.  He doesn’t censor what he says and there is a story-telling quality to what he shares.  Things such as how he could have been beat-up in LA after craving for ice-cream.  How a one-eyed guy threatened to kill him.  The movie star who rented his Hollywood mansion.  How some guys in a car followed him when he took a wrong turn on the way to the LA airport.  What happened when Frosty’s own lease expired on his San Francisco rental.

I was wondering where he moved and hadn’t heard him say anything about it, until the other day he mentioned he’s staying in a temporary rental until he finds something.  He will pay up to $5,000 per month and he’s been out-priced in this market.  It’s crazy, but interesting to hear him talk about it as it happens to him.  More interesting than listening to news clips of Donald Sterling.

hmmm.  I hadn’t expected to write up another rant about radio.  I’d intended to share some interesting podcasts I heard while not listening to Talk 910AM this week.

BBC Radio 2’s Simon Mayo Drivetime Confessions included a good one about a guy wearing an Afghan coat and how it caused the confessee to miss music he wanted to hear.

A Dirty Dustbin Dance & Other Tales

Fri, 6 Jun 14

(28 days remaining to listen)

This week’s concise collection includes a dirty dustbin dance, a foetid footie flushback, a costly cloak of confusion and a bad Dad’s bilious blooper! But will you forgive?

It’s the third confession on the podcast, the one about the costly cloak of confusion.

 http://www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/confess

Another interesting podcast is an hour-long archived one from Radiolab.org ( http://www.radiolab.org/ ) from their second season, titled Detective Stories.  You don’t have to listen to the entire podcast, it’s divided into sections below the Listen area.  If your time is limited to one story, then listen to the goat.

http://www.radiolab.org/story/91516-detective-stories/

Here’s a link to the goat story only, along with many comments about it.

http://www.radiolab.org/story/91518-goat-on-a-cow/#commentlist

 

Oh, and if you did listen to Drivetime Confessions, you might enjoy this link:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_Bruford

 

When I searched for an image of an Afghan coat, I found another mystery article that involves an Afghan coat.  An image of an Afghan coat is included:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1315262/Picture-helped-solve-mystery-Girl-Afghan-Coat.html

 

If you have any interesting podcasts, share!  We need other listening alternatives more than ever.

Leave a Reply

