What is going on at Talk910-AM?  Are they trying to see how low their ratings can go?

I was happy when they removed Rush from the schedule.  Not so thrilled that they gave Armstrong and Getty an extra hour.

Frosty’s show was moved back two hours. I don’t mind Frosty.  I enjoy his show.  But, he discusses many lite-news items.  He loves to talk about Bieber.  And, weird, trending news items along with audio clips of 911 calls or odd interviews.  Things that are interesting for a one-time listen but they are topics you hear once and there is no need to listen again.

That was evident when Frosty was on vacation during the week that began with St. Patrick’s Day.  Mid-week the station played a ‘Best Of Frosty’ show.   It was all about Bieber’s bad behavior.   Do we really need to hear that again?  sigh…

That is a flaw when presenting a news-lite program with no callers.  But, I do love it when Frosty shares personal stories.  When he returned from vacation, he said he ruined the St. Patrick’s Day parade of a small town in Ireland.  I listened to his entire show that day just to hear that story, but he didn’t share it.

Thankfully, the next day newsreader, Lisa, asked him about it.  Frosty didn’t have time to share it on Monday, but he finally told it on Tuesday.

Want to hear it?  It begins around 17:30 on the podcoast:

http://www.talk910.com/media/podcast-frosty-podcast-frosty/frosty-032514-hr2-kids-these-days-24528288/ 

Frosty has some great personal stories and that is what I usually share.

Also, when he returned from vacation, he read a listener’s email on-air.  It said, simply: Frosty, do not ever take another vacation again.

That was something I was thinking the week he was gone.  The guest hosts were uninspiring at best, and mind-numbing horrible radio at its worst.  That happened on Thursday.  I’d never heard of the guy before, at first I thought it was Gabbert, he has a similar voice tone to Gabbert, but the guest host on Thursday spewed so much vile for discussion points I had to turn off the radio.

What is going on over there, Talk910?  That guy on Thursday nearly made me throw away my radio for good.  Who needs it?  I can’t listen to Gil’s Friday shows because his amateur wife shrieks through it, and when she’s not screeching and interrupting guests, she’s talking slow to enunciate her words trying not to shriek, but she always reverts to her true nature and that voice gets unleashed no matter how careful she tries to control it.  It’s awful.  And, Gil’s topics rival what one hears on The View.  Such as, what is happening on the latest installment of some fashion show I’ve never seen or even heard of before.

Really, Gil?  Really?

If it wasn’t for Frosty, I’d continue to listen to BBC Radio2 all day.  I can’t easily abandon my talk radio habit after so many years, though.  I do stream This American Life on Fridays so I don’t have to hear one syllable of Gil’s wife’s voice.

I sometimes listen to the show that comes on after Frosty, the Randi Rhodes Show, but I turn the volume down so it’s simply background noise.  I usually turn her off.  Same with Gil.  During the week, Mon-Thurs, he’s just background noise.  If he starts telling his stories I’ve heard fifteen times before, I turn him off.  If he interrupts an interview to throw in a lame joke, I turn him off.  If he, once again, interrupts an interview to tell a lengthy story about himself, I turn him off.  He gets turned off a lot during the week.

Even the promos they now play of Gil’s show are laughable.  That’s the content they’re promoting?  Really?  They played one promo for weeks about Gil discussing sex and marriage and vacuums.  It was sad.  That’s the best they can find?  It really shows how he doesn’t care about presenting a quality show any longer.

If he doesn’t care, why should we?

Someone at Talk910-AM is sleeping during programming meetings.  Do they know what goes out on-air?  Maybe they don’t care, either.

If they don’t care, why should we?

 

 

Leave a Reply

