See what I did there?  I know, I know.  Sometimes I can’t help myself.

There’s a new post on Bernie Ward’s blog, The Lion of the Left Speaks, about his thoughts on the selection of the next pope.  We all know, now, who they selected as the new pontiff but we also know Bernie is in prison and can’t just wander to his computer at four a.m. and post something on his blog.  I’m sure an updated post from Bernie will be up soon.

Here’s his post before the news:

Monday, March 11, 2013 – The Conclave…

http://lionoftheleft.blogspot.com/2013/03/the-conclave.html

There’s another earlier post about Eric Holder and the drones debate:

Friday, March 8, 2013 – Hypothetically Speaking…

http://lionoftheleft.blogspot.com/2013/03/hypothetically-speaking.html

Gil Gross, our favorite talk-show host at KKSF NewsTalk-910 AM had an interesting show yesterday in his second hour that went from after-life to the current state of organized religion and even Lil Wayne’s sizzurps.  I’d never heard of a sizzurp before but I did hear this morning on the news that Lil Wayne has tweeted he is fine.

Gil Gross – March 13, 2013, Hour 2 (you can hear Lloyd Lindsay Young and Sebastian Kunz as well):

http://www.newstalk910.com/cc-common/podcast/single_page.html?more_page=1&podcast=gil_gross&selected_podcast=gil_gross_03-15-13_h2_1363406425_14000.mp3

He had two interesting callers that spoke of their experience with the after-life.

Gil’s wife, Rhoda, is on the show with him every Friday.  As I’ve said before, her voice is high and shrill and when she shrieks things on the show, like, “What??” or “Just a minute!” or just a high-pitched sort-of scream, it’s irritating.  I love Gil and I can listen to Rhoda when she’s not all worked up about something, but, fair warning, there are a few moments in this segment that she can’t contain it.

Also, I was really enjoying the callers on this segment and was settling in for long listen when I heard the words, “And we have to get to traffic and weather so I only have a second,” and then Gil lets Rhoda go on and on about her after-life thoughts.  Come on, Gil, you can hear this stuff at home.  Listeners want to hear calls, especially interesting calls such as you had on this show.

I’d hoped he’d continue the discussion, but, no – had to move on to another subject.  I understand that they do this to garner more listeners in each quarter-hour, but it lessens the listening experience for those of us who remember how talk-show hosts before December 11, 2011, would explore a topic for an entire hour and even push it to two if the interest was there.

I miss those hours.  Do you?

Leave a Reply

