Happy Holidays everyone and I can’t believe a New Year is almost here.

Just wanted to indulge myself this post and put up some music links to YouTube videos I’ve enjoyed over the years.  They are not holiday related, only interesting to me.

Before I do that, I noticed our new friend on KKSF-Newstalk 910-AM, Sebastian Kunz, has been commenting on the Facebook page of FormerKGOListeners.  He even throws a few f-bombs in there.  yikes.  I don’t know if this is the same Sebastian we hear on the radio or someone who has taken his name and pretends to be him.  He even has a Star Trek banner on his Facebook page.  The real Sebastian has been on vacation (the guy filling in for him is ok but I do miss Sebastian when he’s not there.  Even Lloyd Lindsey Young still throws the cue to him.  Good ol’ Lloyd).

Here’s the link to the Facebook page of FormerKGOListeners.  If you have a Facebook account, make sure you ‘like’ the page.

https://www.facebook.com/FormerKGOListeners

This is the article the person named Sebastian Kunz has commented on:

ClearChannel Converts Music Station to Talk!

It was posted on Friday, 12/21/12, to the page.

Okay, now for the music.

Last year I posted some music, as well, to end out the year.  This is a busy time of year so I wanted to do it now when I have some extra time.  I thought of it after trying to remember an old song with lyrics about seeing someone from the past during the holidays.  I couldn’t remember the singer or any words of the song.  Only that it was similar to Harry Chapin’s popular song, Taxi.

I had to Google old 80s hits to find it.

Here’s the song I was searching for:

When I was researching it, I found out that Dan Fogelberg died in 2007.  Also, this song was autobiographical.  Here’s a snipped from songfacts.com:

“As Fogelberg tells it on his official website, the song is totally autobiographical. He was visiting family back home in Peoria, Illinois in the mid-’70s when he ran into an old girlfriend at a convenience store.”

If you want to read more about it, here’s the link:

http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=3506

I’m sure I posted some of these following videos last year, but it’s always great to hear them again.

Another old favorite of mine is an older Gordon Lightfoot performing If You Could Read My Mind:

The song is enhanced beyond a great musical piece when an aged Gordon Lightfoot sings it.  It’s very touching and almost poetic.

There is something so poignant in this raw rendition of Harry Nilsson’s demo of Without You.  It’s not what you’d expect, it’s simply Harry and his piano.  It’s wonderful.

The original writers of the song from the group, Badfinger, said Nilsson took their song to a new level.

On a different note, this old Lennon song from his ‘lost weekend’ days is a listening experience.  If you haven’t heard it, then you must hear it to see what I mean.  Not exactly what you’d expect to hear.

Finally, I’ll add a new song this year.  I think Prince sounds a little like Bob Dylan in his newest release Rock n Roll Love Affair.

What do you think?

Happy New Year, everyone!

See you next year.

Leave a Reply

