I love that Len Tillem’s show on KKSF-Newstalk 910-AM is growing in audience numbers.  What makes his show are the stories, oh, the stories, as Len says all of the time.

Photo by Takkk CC-SA 3.0

I’m not so excited about his pitches and shows about the class-action lawyer he promotes and partners with on-air, but Len has a business to promote and I have no problem with him trying to make some money.  It’s just not that interesting to me and I half-listen to those shows in the same way I half-listen to Gil’s show when Rhoda is on.

So, when Len has a show full of stories, oh, the stories, there is no other show like it on radio today.  Love those callers!

Want to hear what I’m talking about?  Len had just that kind of show on Wednesday, October 3, 2012.  A 50-something guy called about a problem with someone he met on a sugar-daddy website.  Only Len would ask how good was the sex.  That call was followed by a woman lecturing Len on the way he handled the sugar-daddy call.  Then some guy called to say he went out for drinks one afternoon and woke up later that night in his old neighborhood and didn’t know how he got there.  Oh, the calls!  The calls!

Here’s the link:

http://www.newstalk910.com/player/?station=KKSF-AM&program_name=podcast&program_id=tillem.xml&mid=22501078

*

Speaking of 50-somethings who go after legal young things, I’ve never been a fan of Jim Gabbert, but that was based on his creepy-factor seeing him on those old Dance Party shows and then some salacious headlines about his private life over a decade ago when he lied about a stalker who was blackmailing him.  That’s about all I knew about him. It wasn’t until this whole KGO fiasco unfolded with those Dick-eys at Cumulus that I’ve learned some of Gabbert’s history.  Yes, it’s based on what he’s said about himself on-air, but when I listen to his shows it’s apparent that he knows what he’s talking about based on his own media experience.  When he fills in as a host on KKSF-Newstalk 910-AM it’s always a show I go back to the archives and listen again for each hour he was on the air.  He sat in for Gil Gross on Wednesday, September 26, 2012, talking about capitalism and a healthy economy and one thing I noticed is that he took many calls.  That surprised me.  I’d always thought Gil didn’t have many callers because of the time of day the show airs when most people are in their cars heading home after work.  If that’s true, then why does Gabbert get a board full of callers?

I guess it’s the differing styles.

For Len, it’s the callers who make the show.  On other shows, even, I learn something from callers, no matter if they agree with the host or not.  There’s always another level of discussion introduced.  For whatever reason, Gil seems to prefer interviewing experts in the field of topics chosen for his show.  I enjoy hearing their viewpoints as well, but the most interesting shows are always made by the people who call in.  Gil leaves little to no room for call-ins.  People with opinions are squeezed in at the end, and I mean the very end, time for only one or two calls.  I wonder, if, after months of this, callers have given up and that’s why there are so few calls on his show.  I miss those callers.  Still love Gil, but part of the pleasure of listening to talk radio is the unexpected conversations brought up by the listening audience – not the rehearsed bits by prepped guests and host.  I miss the spontaneity of calls.

So, let’s hear some calls.

Links to Jim Gabbert filling in for Gil Gross on Wednesday, September 26, 2012:

Hour 1 – Budget Cuts to Public Education

http://www.newstalk910.com/cc-common/podcast/single_page.html?more_page=3&podcast=gil_gross&selected_podcast=gross_09-26-12_h1_1348717954_20720.mp3

Hour 2 – Capitalism and a Healthy Economy

http://www.newstalk910.com/cc-common/podcast/single_page.html?more_page=3&podcast=gil_gross&selected_podcast=gross_09-26-12_h2_1348718939_806.mp3

Hour 3 – More Capitalism and the Dumbing Down of America

http://www.newstalk910.com/cc-common/podcast/single_page.html?more_page=2&podcast=gil_gross&selected_podcast=gross_09-26-12_h3_1348719664_7274.mp3

For the same reasons I still read that strange media blogger.  Not for what he posts, but for those wonderful comments made by the readers of his blog.  It can get very heated over there and there are many detailed discussions by informed readers that far exceed the content of the blog itself.

That media blogger guy has really gone off the rails this time around.  One of his recent posts about talk show hosts wanting to kill themselves is the most inane and confusing I’ve read in a long time.  The only thing that brought it back to the land of sane were commenters who took out the weird animal noises and went in a direction that made it readable.  Without them, it wouldn’t be worth the minute it takes to read that guy’s blog.  Time spent in the comment section is usually time well spent.

Finally, I was surprised to read that Armstrong and Getty almost had a incident on-air but it barely evoked a yawn.  I read about it days afterward in a short mention over at the Facebook page of FormerKGOListeners.  It’s funny that no one else has ever mentioned it.  Even that media blogger guy is uninterested and that guy posts rumors that turn out to be untrue just to get more readers.

I guess I’m not the only one who doesn’t want to waste time listening to the screeching of Armstrong and Getty.

I could say the same about the number of people who don’t waste their time reading this blog, but that’s another post for another time.

Not that many people will see it when I do get around to posting it anyway…

*

*

By the way, the name of this post comes from the title of a song by Beatrice Kay.  I can’t find a video for it on YouTube, so I’ll have to post another one of her songs ‘Hooray, Hooray, I’m Going Away’.  Love the broken record at the end.

*

If you want to hear the song, here’s one that’s not performed by Beatrice Kay but the full song is there.

Leave a Reply

