I’m sure I’m the only one who thinks this is funny, but I’ve been chuckling about it since I read it.

I’m one of those ‘gurlz’ who doesn’t sit around watching or listening to many sports broadcasts.  Well, maybe figure skating and gymnastics once in awhile, especially during an Olympic year.  So, the recent firing of Ralph Barbieri by Cumulus-owned station KNBR interests me only by fueling my complete hatred for that bottom-feeder corporation, Cumulus Media, that has destroyed local radio here and has done it with cruelty and brutality, showing little regard for many radio professionals, public figures as well as behind-the-scene technicians.

I know, I know, I’ve said it before, many times.  But I’ll say it again and again until we can run Cumulus out of town and out of the broadcast business.  They seem to be mucking it up on their own, but let’s try to push it along faster – their total and utter failure.

Anyway, back to Ralph and a reminder of something else I’ve said before: Read the 415 Media blog not for the articles but for the comments.  It’s always sprinkled with some erudite commentary, and, for lighter moments, the usual fare of some name-calling, arguing and debating.  They are always bashing Ben Fong-Torres over there as well, the Chronicle/ sfgate journalist who writes a local media column, Radio Waves.  Here’s a link:  http://www.sfgate.com/columns/radiowaves/archive/

Lately, as you can imagine, the 415 Media blog has been Barbieri-bloated, headlines screaming about Ralph’s abrupt dismissal and, now that the lawsuit has been filed, the article headings have reached a level of hysteria.  It’s an odd thing to watch from the sidelines.

Today, as I glanced through the comments of the latest post, I couldn’t help but laugh.  Even now, I’m having a few more giggles just reading it again.

<

It starts out with a comment someone made about how many times Ralph had been late to work.

This comment followed in reply:

“Kenn Fong June 19, 2012 10:44 AM

The most rank newbie knows you should be in the building at least half an hour before you go on the air. It’s a matter of respect to your colleagues. Unless you’re Don Sherwood and Ralph’s no Don Sherwood.

I feel badly for him that it ended this way, but if it’s true that Ralph was stupid enough to be late 100 times when they watching him, it’s almost as if he wanted to be fired.”

<

And, this followed:

<

“Anonymous June 19, 2012 11:35 AM

Mr. Fong, why would you comment on gossip? Perhaps Mr. Bowman is correct; perhaps he is not. That’s what courts are for. To comment as you have here ~ without irrefutable proof ~ is irresponsible for someone who is a columnist and supposedly guided by a journalistic code of ethics.

Would you like us to post gossip about you Mr. Fong, so that someone may comment: “… but if that’s true, that Mr. Fong was stupid enough to be late 100 times when they {sic} were watching him, it’s almost as if he wanted to be fired.”

Oh, so now, not only are you a gossip-monger, Mr. Fong, but you are a mind-reader? Hey, can you tell me how the stock market is gonna do next week so I can move my investments?

Give me a break. No wonder The Chronicle is tanking.

Secondly, anyone with an ounce of supervisorial experience, HR experience, legal experience, etc., knows YOU NEVER write an email that says, “I am very concerned about your health and on-the-air energy,” as Mr. Hammer did.

That fact that Mr. Hammer did not respond to Mr. Barbieri’s email back is an indication that perhaps Mr. Hammer realized his error, or HR did and hammered Mr. Hammer for a very stupid, and junior-level mistake.

The fact that Barbeieri’s show was first, second, first, second or vice versa (I can’t recall) in the months surrounding this Hammer note is an indication that Mr. Barbieri’s health had no effect on the ratings, whether or not he was No. 1 or No. 2.

As for Mr. Fong’s false assertion about a half-hour early, in my years in radio, that NEVER happened on a regular basis. NEVER.

Now, I worked at mid-market stations managing news, but I observed people. Perhaps in Mr. Fong’s experience, it is true. Perhaps at KNBR, it is true, but to make a blanket statement for ALL radio stations in the world, nada.

Now I know why I never read Mr. Fong’s column.

Disclaimer: I have no association, past or present, with Mr. Fong. I never heard him on air. I don’t read him because he’s clueless and even more boring than Mr. Barbieri.”

<

um, I can just imagine the look on Kenn Fong’s face when he reads this.  Yes, that Kenn Fong, some innocent web designer out of Alameda who likes to lick one-cent stamps.

Gawd, I’m still laughing….

Here’s a link to the 415 Media article with the comments:

http://richliebermanreport.blogspot.com/2012/06/barbieri-versus-knbrcumulus-case-that.html

<

Today, on Gil Gross’ show on KKSF-Newstalk 910-AM, he interviewed local attorney, Angela Alioto, who is representing Ralph Barbieri.  I’ll post that link tomorrow when they add the podcast to the website.

Here’s a link to that podcast (the interview with Alioto starts around 16:00):

http://www.newstalk910.com/player/?station=KKSF-AM&program_name=podcast&program_id=gil_gross.xml&mid=22194938

Also, Gil mentioned that Gene Burns has added another post to his blog.  Here’s the link to that:

Is The American Dream A Myth?

http://www.newstalk910.com/pages/gene-burns.html?article=10209368

<

Bernie Ward has posted something new to his blog as well:

Posted Sunday, June 17, 2012 – Why Don’t We Care More?

http://lionoftheleft.blogspot.com/2012/06/why-dont-we-care-more.html

Leave a Reply

