Photo by Rich Tea

Yesterday, April 24, 2012, on KKSF-Newstalk 910-AM, John Rothmann (as the guest-host, or all-star fill-in, for Gene Burns’ program) dedicated his third hour (6-7:00pm) to the history of Batman!

Rothmann talks to Bruce Scivally, who wrote the book ‘Billion Dollar Batman’, and it’s an hour of interesting Batman facts and even a quick trip down to the Batcave.

It’s a delightful hour of fun.

*

*

*

*

Here’s a link to the Podcast:

http://www.newstalk910.com/cc-common/podcast/single_page.html?more_page=1&podcast=burns&selected_podcast=burns_04-24-12_h3_1335323128_18271.mp3

Or, you can go to

http://www.newstalk910.com/main.html

(Under Podcasts, select Gene Burns, then find the programs dated 4/24/12 and the Batman show is Hour 3)

It reminds me of the time Gil Gross interviewed a guy who wrote a book about the history of how comics almost destroyed America, or something like that.  It was a few years ago, and I even bought the book for someone, but I can’t recall the name of it to look it up on Google.  That was an interesting show as well.  I miss the days when Gil Gross would bring in book authors and spend an hour talking about the books and taking calls.  I bought many books back then – books I would have never known about if it weren’t for Gil and his interviews.

I’m enjoying John Rothmann’s shows on KKSF-Newstalk 910-AM.  I listen to him on the days he guest hosts and I always go back to the podcasts the next day and listen again.  When he was on that old station, you know the one, the one without any listeners nowadays, I never had a chance to listen to him.  He was on later in the evening at a time I didn’t listen to radio.  KGO’s loss is our gain.

I do hope to hear Gene Burns on the radio soon; he’s another one I wish I would have listened to ‘back in the day’.  Gene has some first-rate fill-ins hosts that sustain the level of quality that’s to be expected with a Gene Burns program banner.

And, when Gene returns, how can KKSF not find another spot for John Rothmann?  Even if he’s on during a time I don’t listen to radio, I will always listen to the podcasts the following day.  I’m sure I’m not the only one and with Arbitron using their new PPM method of tracking listenership, podcasts do factor into the equation.

Who needs that other crappy station?  I haven’t listened to it for even one second since that day in December.  Don’t plan to listen to it ever again.

Leave a Reply

