I know this is probably old news by now, but, hey, I work all day and only get to this stuff when I can get to it.  Most of you know the methods of Lew Dick-ey’s take over and trashing of local radio stations.  Once he thinks he owns you, then he lets his dog loose on your lawn.  Leaving little piles of SweetJack everywhere.  Doesn’t even knock on the door to warn you what’s waiting out there.  What does he care?  He has money.  It’s his dog.  And if you try to complain, he simply fires all the local voices and puts a canned ham in syndication on your airwaves.

It’s like he’s holding his hands to his ears so he won’t hear you.

You think you can simply turn off his stations to get rid of him.  Oh, if only it were that easy.  He’s got your number.  Your name.  Your email address.  Yep.  You’re SweetJack’d now.  That station he trashed, your old radio home, is now his personal mailing list to market his crap.  All he has to do is open the old Listener Club files and let the dog off the leash, to go ‘fetch’.

An example of where his dog roams freely:

Here’s an excerpt:

“A couple of weeks later I start getting spam from SweetJack, thanking me for signing up – to the tagged email address I’d only given to KFOG. And no mention of KFOG at all.”

SweetJack Spam: http://blog.wordtothewise.com/2011/11/does-it-look-like-youre-spamming/

Here’s an article that isn’t even about SweetJack but look at some of those comments(copied below):

http://myticketconfession.blogspot.com/2012/01/i-kinda-feel-sorry-for-that-guy-from.html

Anonymous said…

Not sure what this is all about, but I do wish the Cumulus owned Sweet Jack campaign would FREAKIN’ END NOW!
I can’t take it anymore. Sure, like a lot of people, I was first suckered in by the catchy tune. But now it makes me want to turn the dial. In fact, if they insist on running it every single commercial break, I think I’m going to take a vacation from The Ticket. And I don’t care how long I have to wait it out. At the very least play a new ad for the dumb website or service or whatever the hell it is.
*
Little Weak Jeremy said…
I love the Andy Kaufman-esque utter madness of the Sweet Jack ad and look forward to Dan’s performance of it at Ticketstock.Plainsman,I’d advise you not to stroll down dark alleys any time soon, lest you meet some hired thugs wearing green. You’ve been a thorn in AP’s side before and with this latest brickbat-throwing they may choose to take decisive action.
*
Anonymous said…
What do you find Andy Kaufman-esque about the Sweet Jack ads, LWJ?
*
Little Weak Jeremy said…
I find it impossible to imagine these guys don’t know they’re whipping the ever-loving sh– out of listeners. It’s so horrible that it comes out the other side as great audience-abuse performance art, kind of like Kaufman with the Tony Clifton act (and similar to what Dan will be doing if he sings it at Ticketstock). I’m basically rehashing the position that Jake Z took on It’s Just Banter (episode 112, I think).
*
ap said…
Minor clarification; the “AP” in the second comment refers to “all-pro foundation repair” – I’d never accost the good Plainsman!Regarding Sweetjack, this has been a growing nuisance since October of last year. Around that time, an irate BaD Radio screenless caller complained at length that signing up for the Ticket’s text message alert service had somehow opted him into SweetJack advertising spam. At the time, I thought “wow, the ticket has stooped to a new low” because the text promos claimed they’d never sell your info. Mind you, a host (Craig or Dan, I don’t remember which) had added the comment “until we deem it profitable” during the initial run of those ads, but I digress. Dan let the caller go for about a minute, but he did eventually cut him off. I thought it was weird for them not to immediately dump an anti-sponsor call, but I chalked it up to Dan’s “stick it to the man” life mantra.So I was left thinking “Wow, the ticket just sold out it’s P1 base to this SweetJack sponsor”. A month later during the Christmas layover, I found myself waking up with the Sweet-Jack tune stuck in my head. It became more and more aggravating, and a few weeks later, the P1’s also became vocal about it. I was averaging about one anti-SweetJack tweet per day until a P1 lightly chastised myself (and Sean Bass) for calling out a rare Q1 sponsor. So I stopped……For about 2 hours. Then I found out (via twitter and during the Musers’s 5:30AM skatearound) that SweetJack is actually a Cumulus venture. That’s how they were able to access the P1 database of cell phone numbers, and that’s why they can play that damned spot ad-nauseum. It’s basically filler until regular sponsors come back, and even then, I think it will still be in heavy rotation. As far as I can tell, SweetJack is a direct competitor to GroupOn, but they can leverage their radio advertising opportunity as well.You can tell that the hosts have taken notice to the P1’s outcry and no longer treat Sweet Jack as a sacred sponsor. Gordon, Sean, Rich, Dan and Mike R have all taken on-air shots at the advertisement, and I bet they will continue to do so until a gag order is issued from Cumulus.I’ve also noticed that the frequency of those ads has increased tremendously, despite the ticket’s commercial load returning to healthier levels. One wonders just how aggressively Cumulus wants to push this thing.
*
AnonNoLonger said…
I think *fingers and toes crossed* that we might be seeing the beginning of the end of the Sweet Jack onslaught. I’ve noticed that a shortened version of the ad/song is being played from time to time. Hopefully the shorter ad will soon become the only spot run, and eventually it’ll die out. Or perhaps Cumulus will at least start a new ad campaign for their web-“cool”-thing-of-the-moment endeavor. Like I said fingers and toes crossed.Little Weak Jeremy: I’m not sure if I can agree with you that the advertisement group hired by Cumulus thinks along the lines you’ve imputed onto them. Actually, I highly doubt it. Cumulus one heckuva *monied and even make or break you* client, and I can’t imagine a business fooling around as such. The ad’s design is to entice, not repulse. And as much as I detest the campaign and its song, it has done its job in spades where the masses are concerned. So I have to respectfully disagree with you here.
*
Anonymous said…
Following up on AP’s post, just about every TV station and/or newspaper has a “Deal of the Day” service these days. So it’s no surprise Cumulus would have its own. The bubble will burst on these deal sites before too long. Let’s hope it happens sooner rather than later for SweetJack.
*
The Plainsman said…
I was going to do a bit on SweetJack, but you all have beat me to it, and rather authoritatively I might say.I remember hearing the shorter version first, and then the more annoying longer two-verse version where they replace the final rhyme of the first verse with another rhyme, and stick the removed rhyme on the end of the second verse about how he sticks the stuff in your in-box and “that’s why he rocks.”My problem is much worse. Not only was I humming that cursed tune all day long, but while doing so I actually formed a mental image of a smallish dog racing around town looking for bargains and then coming back and pawing out a mass email to SweeJack victims.
*
Scott said…
Odd, I heard the SFR ad this morning for the first time and had the exact same thought, especially as George did a live ad for All Pro about 15 minutes later.As to Sweet Jack, it has driven me nuts. I wonder though, how many have actually sat down and typed in that url to see what is there. I admit, I did, and, on occasion, they have deals.
*
Anonymous said…
Sweet Jack is an instant punch out for me. Hope Cumulus is happy screwing over their other advertisers by forcing listeners to tune out due to their own. Sweet Jack has moved to the top of the list, alongside Godaddy, of products I’ll never use due to their advertising.
*
Blergoyen said…
I don’t like having to hand my prized smart phone over to a kid to take down all the sweetjack info when you use an ecoupon.That being said, I feel EVEN SORRIER for the old guy in the Guardian construction (roofing) commercials. I’m not trying to be mean, as I am dealing with this very issue with a family member right now, but the poor old guy sounds like he might be suffering the onset of mild dimensia. He starts rambling in both commercials and the son actually has to interrupt him in order to finish the commercials. He sounds like a nice guy, so I hate to criticize, but the sound of that guy hits a little close to home right now.
*
 

What’s most interesting about all of this is SweetJack’s own Rules on Spam:

Rules

  • Your friends must accept your invitation and make their first purchase in order for you and them to get your credit. We will let you know when your friend accepts your invitation and joins SweetJack. Within 48 hours of your friends’ first purchase we will credit $10 to your SweetJack account.
  • Fake invitations are not allowed.
  • SPAM invitations are not allowed.
  • SweetJack reserves the right to disqualify and even terminate the account of any individual who participates in providing or acquiring referrals in a “dubious manner”, or that a “dubious manner” constitutes but is not limited to:
    • Sending unsolicited emails to strangers or people you do not know. Any SPAM complaints will result in immediate disqualification and removal from the SweetJack service.

*

*

Really, SweetJack?  Clean up your own lawn, first.  Get out your pooper-scooper and start the removal of SweetJack from our neighborhoods.

*

*

And it’s not over yet.  This is what your local businesses can expect anytime soon:

SweetJack Sales Representative

Company: Cumulus Radio ChicagoLocation: Chicago, ILDate Posted: January 19, 2012

Job Description: SweetJack is Cumulus Media’s social commerce division. SweetJack Representatives are professionals who can develop leads, negotiate and close deals in a fast-paced environment while creating a strong merchant pipeline, and leverage related experience in local merchant advertising with connections to build partnerships for Cumulus Media. They secure commitments from the most popular and desirable local businesses including restaurants, theaters, spas and everything in between, negotiating unbeatable offers on behalf of our radio listeners and email subscribers. We hire connected, innovative and industry-relevant sales professionals with online, advertising, social media, phone and face-to-face sales experience. Cumulus Media is an Equal Opportunity Employer.

Leave a Reply

