It’s a new year and with it comes a new routine for listening to talk radio.

I’ve been streaming live audio to hear some of my former KGO hosts.  It’s not like before, when I could push the ON button and leave it there for the day.  I have to search for a personality’s station and time slot and arrange my listening time around it.  Not the easiest thing to do during the work week, but what other option do we really have?

This was my listening schedule the past week:

Bill Wattenburg on KSCO-AM in Santa Cruz, Monday-Wednesday, time slot 12Noon-2:00pm.

(I’d link to the podcasts but it’s not clear where to find the Dr. Bill archived podcasts on that site.  Lots of some doctor and old Dr. Bill programs, but nothing recent that I can find.)

I didn’t realize how much I enjoyed listening to Wattenburg until he was pulled off the air.  He was like the old neighborhood porch where everyone gathered at the end of the day.  A place where people of any age knew they could go to sit and talk and always come back to when in town.

I admit to not listening to Wattenburg much in the past years, only turning on his program periodically when I couldn’t sleep, and I did grow weary of the eco-freak talk.  I understood his message, just didn’t want to hear it every ten minutes.  But I listened to him for the other calls, the kids with questions about science, people curious about how things work, his views on Bay Area security and nuclear energy, and even the truckers who needed help with a transmission.  He has vast knowledge and can communicate that knowledge in a clear, concise message to anyone who cares to listen.

I’m not a big fan of that KSCO station in Santa Cruz.  They are trying to profit off Dr. Bill’s celebrity, as are all of the other stations taking in former KGO hosts.  But this station has some bizarre doctor show posted on its website and the owners, MZ and his 90-year-old mother, are hard to listen to on a regular basis.  I only stream Dr. Bill when he’s on and then turn off that station as fast as my fingers can get to the OFF button.

I think Dr. Wattenburg will be good for the Santa Cruz listening audience.  He’s already championing a cause and getting listeners to participate.  I’ll continue to listen, tune out that 90-year-old commentary, and just be happy hearing Dr. Bill again.

Then there’s an hour of free time until Len Tillem shows up on another station.  That’s when I go out to pick up lunch, take care of things that take me away from the computer or radio, and wait for the loy’ah.

Len Tillem on KKSF – Newstalk 910AM, Monday-Friday, 3:00pm-4:00pm

A link to the podcasts:

http://www.newstalk910.com/main.html

Good ol’ Len.  Practically the first sentence out of his mouth was welcome to KG..oh..oh!  Wrong station.  It was a wonderful Tillem moment as he laughed and explained and laughed again.  A great way to start off because it was funny to those of us who knew him from that other station and instead of sounding unprofessional to the others who didn’t, it was actually endearing to hear it.

Gene Burns on KKSF – Newstalk 910AM, Monday-Friday, 4:00pm-7:00pm

I was looking forward to hearing Gene Burns.  I wanted to hear what his fan base has heard for years and I’ve been looking forward to becoming a new fan.  I will have to wait a while longer for that to happen.  Gene Burns was unable to appear for medical reasons and in his place was a week of guest hosts.  Not any old, fill-in guest hosts, but former KGO hosts showed up.  So, although I have to wait to hear Gene Burns, it was great hearing those other voices again.

Tuesday Dr. Bill Wattenburg filled in.

Wednesday Gil Gross hosted.

Thursday John Rothmann came by.

And, Friday, Rosie Allen closed out the week.

I will have to wait another week for Gene.  Guest hosts will be filling in next week as well.

It’s not perfect, but at least it’s better than it was at year end.  I wish Gene well and hope he gets back on the air when he’s healthy and strong and ready to talk.  Good things come to those who wait.  I can wait for one more week…

Comments
  1. randy clover says:

    Hello, do you have another schedule where we can find out when Bill Wattenburg will be on, or standing in for others? Is this site the best place for his schedule? I saw Mon-Wed Am, is that the only weekly slot for Dr. Wattenburg? Thanks for your help.; We live in Foresthill Ca, above Auburn so must live stream or use archives. Being not so good with the computer, do you have archives for Dr Wattenburg? Thanks again Randy Clover

Leave a Reply

