Ronn Owens, talk-show host at KGO Radio, responds to irate former listeners over the recent programming changes.  You can find the letter on his Facebook page along with over 200 responses to date:
*
*
*
*
Ronn Owens
Open Letter to KGO Listeners from Ronn Owens:
*
Please, let’s clear up some issues surrounding the programming changes at KGO. I was as stunned as anyone to learn Gil, Gene, John, Ray, Dr. Bill and Joannie would be losing their shows. I found out last Thursday afternoon (Dec. 1), as did everyone else. Not being in management, there’s nothing I could have done previously or could do now to change things. I’m under contract and responsible for my program only. Period.
*
I opened the 9:00 hour with the shocking news last Friday because KGO has been a family, not only of those who work at the station, but of listeners as well. I hadn’t planned what I was going to say in advance, only that I would speak from the heart. I did. I’m a realist. If a corporate decision has been made, I accept it and move forward, hoping that the change will be positive for everyone.
*
Some of you have voiced the opinion that I didn’t say enough in support of my former colleagues, and for that, I’m sorry. That was certainly not my intention. I value each of them and have been proud to call them friends. They’re all intelligent, provocative, and talented, with loyal fans. There’s no doubt they’ll be back on the air somewhere soon. They’re all professionals who understand the radio business. Any station would be lucky to have them on the staff.
*
In the meantime, there are a lot of other people who’ve been here at KGO for years, and remain on the job. They’re on-the-air and behind-the-scenes, and they continue to work as hard as ever to bring you a great product. And we have loyal advertisers, many of whom are small businesses, who count on KGO to get their message across to you. None of us deserves the kind of cyber-bullying, name-calling, and threatening behavior that’s cropped up recently on web pages like mine. I’ve always been in awe of the KGO listeners. They’re the best to be found at any station in the country. They’re loyal, inspiring, intelligent, kind, and thought-provoking. Unfortunately, some of the posts on these pages haven’t lived up to that standard. There have been blatant lies about many things, including whether what I said on the air was “planned”, whether I betrayed my colleagues, what my current salary is, how much annual vacation time I get, and whether my current vacation was timed to avoid this.
*
I look forward to talking with all of you when I return. And, by the way, I didn’t go on vacation to escape the fallout from the station changes. Anyone who’s listened to me over the years knows I always take time off in December. This year, I needed the time off even more because my wife’s mother died suddenly less than two weeks ago, dealing a big blow to our small family.
*
Thanks very much for reading this and for your support of my program over the years. I truly value our connection.

All the best,
Ronn Owens

Comments

Leave a Reply

